Latest posts Odisha Elections 2019

BJP candidates list for Lok Sabha 2019 election of Odisha


The BJP announced its first list of 10 candidates in Odisha for the Lok Sabha elections. Among the 10 in the list, the saffron party will be fielding three women candidates.

But the nine seats that will go to polls in the first two phases on April 11 and April 18, candidates for four – Koraput, Kalahandi, Bargarh, and Kandhamal – are yet to be announced.

The party has re-nominated Sundergarh sitting MP Jual Oram, who would take on BJD’s Sunita Biswal. Sunita Biswal is the daughter of former Congress chief minister Hemananda Biswal, and George Tirkey, a popular tribal leader, who joined the Congress party last year.

Keeping a full stop to all speculation about whether ex-BJD MP Baijayant Panda would contest or not, the party declared that Jay Panda will be fielding from Kendrapada- a seat that he has represented on a BJD ticket earlier. He has joined the BJP earlier this month and was also appointed national vice-president soon after.

The ruling party, BJD is yet to announce its candidate from Kendrapada. Chief Minister and BJD chief Naveen Patnaik had announced from there that one-third of the party’s candidates for Lok Sabha would be women. As per news and gossips, Ollywood actor Anubhav Mohanty might be BJD candidate for Kendrapada.

The BJP has fielded three-time MP Sangeeta Singh Deo from Bolangir. She would be up against sitting BJD MP Kalikesh Singh Deo. Sangeeta is married to BJP leader Kanaka Vardhan Singh Deo, a six-time MLA from Patnagarh. The Congress has fielded veteran leader Nrusingha Mishra from Bolangir. This constituency will see a triangular contest.

The candidature of ex-IAS officer Aparajita Sarangi from Bhubaneswar is entirely on expected lines. A 1994 cadre officer. She had opted for voluntary retirement in September while serving as joint secretary in Ministry of Rural Development. She joined the BJP two months later in Delhi in the presence of BJP president Amit Shah, Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and BJP’s Odisha in-charge Arun Singh.

Among her many assignments was her record while serving as commissioner of Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation that led the BJP to pitch her from Bhubaneswar, traditionally a BJD bastion.

While Congress has backed CPM’s veteran leader Janardan Pati from Bhubaneswar, BJD is likely to drop its five-time sitting MP Prasanna Patasani and field former Mumbai Police Commissioner Arup Patnaik from there.

Patnaik had joined the BJD in 2018 after his retirement. A three-time sitting BJD MLA is also in the running. Sarangi hails from Bihar and is married to serving joint secretary rank IAS officer Santosh Sarangi.

Former BJD MP Balabhadra Majhi’s candidature from Nabrangpur is also on expected lines. Majhi had joined the BJP barely weeks before after being denied a ticket from BJD.

Anita Priyadarshini from Aska is BJP’s third woman candidate in this list. Anita is the daughter of the former minister in Naveen Patnaik cabinet Ramakrushna Patnaik.

Interestingly, BJP chose a woman to take on BJD’s Pramila Bisoi, a grassroots Self Help Group leader, who would be contesting for the first time.

Ananta Naik, former BJP MP from Keonjhar, two-time former MLA and a grassroots level activist Pratap Sarangi from Balasore, Rudra Narayan Pani from Dhenkanal and state general secretary of BJP, Bhrigu Baxipatra from Berhampur, are the four other candidates declared by BJP.

List of BJP candidates for ensuing general election to the Lok Sabha 2019 of Odisha finalised by BJP CEC.

1. Shri Jual Oram – Sundargarh
2. Shri Ananta Kumar Naik – Keonjhar
3. Shri Pratap Sarangi – Balasore
4. Shri Rudra Narayan Pani – Dhenkanal
5. Smt. Sangeeta Kumari Singhdeo – Bolangir
6. Shri Balabhadra Majhi – Nabarangpur
7. Shri Baijayant ‘Jay’ Panda – Kendrapara
8. Smt. Aparajita Sarangi – Bhubaneswar
9. Smt. Anita Priyadarshani – Aska
10. Shri Bhrugu Baxipatra – Berhampur





You may also like

Latest posts Odia Movie Database

Things to know about Tanka Tate Salaam

Things to know about Tanka Tate Salaam : Akash & Badal are two childhood friends. Their fathers work in the
Latest posts Odia Movie Database

I Love You Back In Ollywood

Brajraj Movies most successful film  “I Love You” is now back on the silver screen with UFO &  5.1  Digital