Jagannath dham Puri Lord Jagannath Temple Puri Lord Jagannath-The-God-of-the-Universe

16 Besa or costume of Lord Jagannath


The Veshas or costumes of Lord Jagannath symbolize various cultural and religious syntheses in the shrine. Every day from early morning to night the deities on the Ratna Singhasan wear different attires made of cotton and silk fabrics, Gold Ornaments studded with precious stones, flowers of different varieties, tulsi leaves etc.

Sandal paste, camphor, and sometimes musks are used in daily and periodical rituals.

The Sevaks of the temple who dress the deities in clothing and flowers are known as Puspalaks or Singharis. The Lord of the Universe is incarnated in 16 Vesas.  Here we share 16 Besa of Lord Jagannath.

List of 16 Besa of Lord Jagannath – 

Abakasa Besha

Adikia/Trivikram Besha

Badasighara Besha

Bamana Besha

Chachery Besha

Chandanlagi Besha

Dalikia (Laxmi-Nrusingh) Besha

Kaliadalan Besha

Krushna Balaram Besha

Laxmi Narayan  Besha

Nagarjuna Besha

Pralambhasura Badha  Besha

Radha Damodar Besha

Raja rajeswar Besha

Sradha  Besha

Suna Besha


16 Besa of Lord Jagannath



You may also like

Jagannath dham Puri Sea Beach in Odisha Tourist Place in Odisha

Rare Facts about The Konark Sun Temple Odisha

Rare Facts about The Konark Sun Temple Odisha. The magnificent Sun Temple at Konark is that the fruits of Orissan